Artists Anthony Moman and Hemi Bawa around the Venice Biennale

anthony-moman-sculptor-venice-biennale-2017
Lost in art at the Venice Biennale

I was delighted to welcome artist Hemi Bawa who flew in from India to see my sculptures in Personal Structures,hosted by the European Cultural Centre during the Venice Biennale.

Anthony-Moman-with-Hemi-Bawa-at-Personal-Structures-Dolk
Anthony Moman and Hemi Bawa in front of Dolk’s staple wall sculpture

We had a great time visiting the many exhibits in Palazzo Mora and discovered a recurring theme with my syringe sculptures, acupuncture needles and staples from Dolk. Curators take note.

glasstress-venice-2017-anthony-moman
Ethereal dress sculpture

Later on we visited Glasstress and saw some ethereal glass work and then we went on to the Arsenale.

At this stage I was probably suffering from art fatigue, if that is possible for an artist.

anthony-moman-hemi-bawa-argentinian-pavilion
Impressed by the sheer scale of The Horse Problem

I enjoyed the Argentina Pavilion with The Horse Problem – surely one of the most reposted images from the Biennale.
I appreciated the symbolism of folk masks but the masks continued on and on and on and I was relieved to see something quite different in the striking imagery of Food for Thought by Maha Malluh from Saudi Arabia made from audio tapes in bread baking trays.

maha-malluh-saudia-arabia-anthony-moman
Loved the imagery of Food for Thought

The Italian pavilion left me feeling a sense of dread and not the Magic World I had hoped for. I left the Arsenale without going to the Giardini as I empathised with Lani Maestro’s neon words No Pain Like This Body.

lani-maestro-anthony-moman-venice-biennale
No Pain Like This Body summed up how I felt

I had seen a lot of art and yes, call me biased but I still thought that the best exhibition in town during the Venice Biennale is Personal Structures.

anthony-moman-hemi-bawa-moman-syringe-sculptures-venice-biennale
In front of my sculptures

Personal Structures Group Exhibition is on until November 27th and is free entry, open every day except Tuesdays from 10 am – 6pm

http://www.europeanculturalcentre.eu/index.php?page=15&lang=en

Leave a Reply

